The P.E.O. Sisterhood was founded January 21, 1869 by seven students
on the campus of Iowa Wesleyan College, Mount Pleasant, Iowa.
Friendship is the cornerstone of P.E.O.—it is the legacy left by our Founders
and it thrives in our unique Sisterhood.

P.E.O. is a philanthropic organization where women celebrate the advancement of women;
educate women through scholarships, grants, awards, loans and stewardship of Cottey College;
and motivate women to achieve their highest aspirations.

The first Arizona P.E.O. chapter was organized in 1912,
the same year that Arizona became a state.
Faith McKee, often called the “Mother of Arizona P.E.O.”, organized Chapter A in Phoenix.
Nineteen years later, in 1931, Arizona State Chapter was organized with eleven chapters
at the first Convocation of Arizona Chapters.
Faith McKee was elected the first state president.


Today, Arizona State Chapter has 145 chapters and over 5832 members.